Tutorial: Using the Saved Layers Tab
The Saved Layers tab houses all of the data that you can put on the map, including your active Map Objects and any Data Sets, Layers, Shapes, and Thematic Maps that you create. From the Saved Layers tab, you can conduct data set searches, create and edit new layers, load your layers to the map, and manage a folder system to organize them.
Navigate to your Saved Layers at any time by selecting the folder icon at the bottom of the Map Control Panel.
This document will cover the following:
- Creating and Saving New Layers
- Loading and Refreshing Layers
- Data Set Search Types
- Layer Actions Menu
- Managing Folders
- Organizing and Finding Layers
This will open a popup where you can select the type of data or folder that you want to add. Any data layers that you create must be added to an existing folder, so you might want to start by creating a folder first. Otherwise, they will automatically be saved in the My Personal Saved Layers folder.
Any new layers you create will be designated with the corresponding label:
|Data Sets: Created from Map Object data, Data Sets can be filtered and customized extensively. Learn more about Data Sets.|
|Shapes: Pulled from the Geopointe Shape Library or drawn manually, Shapes can define regions, territories, and other areas. Learn more about Shapes.|
|KML Data: Externally-sourced data files that can display a variety of geospatial data, from weather patterns to political maps. Learn more about KML Layers.|
|Thematic Maps: A selection of geographic boundaries that allow you to visualize Data Sets with rollup metrics. Learn more about Thematic Maps.|
Any of your activated Map Objects in Geopointe will automatically appear in the Saved Layers tab as data sets, grouped by the name of the Salesforce Object, (e.g. Accounts, Contacts, etc.) and appended with (All). They will appear something like this:
Data sets will only load within the parameters of the search type selected (Nearby, Shape, Map View, Everywhere), as described in the next section. After making a change to a data set or search type, you can reload it by clicking the refresh icon:
Shapes, Thematic Maps and KML data will load to the map regardless of the search type selected.
Nearby: Limits your data set results to a distance radius of your choosing.
Shape: Limits your data set results to any shapes that are currently on the map (i.e. shape layers appearing in the Mapped Layers tab). If you select this tab and do not have a shape layer on the map, you’ll receive an error when clicking a data set.
Map View: Limits your data set results to the part of the map that is visible on the screen.
Everywhere: The entire data set will load to the map.
You’ll notice that each type of data layer allows slightly different actions to be performed.
Data Sets and Shape Layers can be edited or deleted:
Thematic Map Layers can be edited, cloned, synced, or deleted. You’ll also see information about the last time the data was synced:
KML Layers can be edited, deleted, or downloaded locally to your computer:
Geopointe automatically provides you with a folder called My Personal Saved Layers, which cannot be edited by other users. You can use this folder to store data sets, layers, and nested folders that you don’t want other users to change.
Upon creating a new primary folder, Geopointe admins can choose whether to allow sharing with other users by checking the Share with All Users box. If a Parent Folder is chosen, admins can check the box for Use Parent Sharing to retain the sharing settings of the parent folder. Any subfolders that they create under that folder will have the same visibility, or can be restricted further by clicking the Manage.
Once the folder has been created, admins can make further adjustments to the sharing rules by clicking on the Folder Actions menu (the three dots) and clicking Sharing Details.
Here is a rundown of all the actions you can take in the Folder Actions menu:
Add Folder Items to Map: Automatically loads all the items in the folder to the map.
Sharing Details: Launches a Sharing Details screen, where you can set the users and/or roles who should have access to the folder, and their level of access.
Edit Folder: Change the folder name and select or change the parent folder.
New Folder: Create a subfolder under the folder.
Copy Folder Items to New Folder: Creates a duplicate of the folder and all of the items it contains.
Delete Folder and Saved Layers: Deletes the folder and everything it contains.