Geopointe

Saved Layers Folders

Geopointe supports organization and permissioning with Data Set folders. Geopointe Admins (users who have the Geopointe Admin permission set) and Salesforce System Admins have the ability to create/edit Data Set Folders for their organization.

This document covers the following:
Creating Folders
Managing Folder Access - Primary Folders /  Nested Folders
Adding Layers to Folders
 

Creating Folders 

Follow these steps to create a folder:

1. Click on the + icon, then click the Folder option. 

 

2. Enter a name for your folder.

3. To create a primary folder (not a subfolder) leave the Parent Folder as --None--.
If you want to create a nested subfolder, choose a Parent Folder to save it under. 

Primary Folder:

Nested Folder:

4. Choose a sharing option. If this is a primary folder, you can check the Share with All Users option to immediately give all users access to the folder, instead of setting up sharing rules later. If it is a nested subfolder, you can check the Use Parent Sharing box to immediately extend access to all users who can see the parent folder. 

Once created, you'll see it in the Data Set folders list. Underneath it is a note that says This folder is empty.

Managing Folder Access

Geopointe folders and nested folders use the Salesforce Sharing Model to provide visibility to users in the organization. This allows administrators to create very refined visibility rules folder by folder, or even use the Sharing Rules in Salesforce Setup to administer folder access. When a layer is saved in a folder, only users with permission to that folder will be able to access it.

Primary Folders

If you are editing the sharing details for a primary folder, follow these steps:

1. Hover over the Layer Options menu (three dots) for that folder, then click Sharing Details

2. The Salesforce Sharing Detail screen loads for that folder, showing all the users that currently have access to the folder, and their level of access. 

3. Click the Add button. The New Sharing screen loads. 

3. Click the Group Type drop-down and select which type of group access you want to provide. Use the arrows to add or remove groups, roles, or specific users to the folder, then use the Access Level drop-down to set the access to Read Only or Read/Write. Click Save.

In the example below, we provided Read Only access to anyone with the Marketing Team role, so that Marketing Team users can view that folder and it's layers, but not edit them. If you want to provide full editing access to groups or users, set their Access Level to Read/Write

Nested Folders

If you are editing the sharing details for a nested folder (subfolder), follow these steps:

1. Hover over the Layer Options menu (three dots) for that folder, then click Sharing Details. The Folder Sharing window appears.


2. In the Folder Sharing window, you have a few options for configuring access.


To implement the same sharing permissions as the parent folder: Check the Inherit Parent Sharing box. Anyone with access to the parent folder will be able to see the subfolder's contents. Click Save, and you're done.

To restrict access further than the parent folder's permissions allow: Click Modify. This will launch the Salesforce Sharing screen. Then continue with the steps below. 

3. Click the Group Type drop-down and select which type of group access you want to provide. Use the arrows to add or remove groups, roles, or specific users to the folder, then use the Access Level drop-down to set the access to Read Only or Read/Write.

Important: Keep in mind that you cannot expand subfolder access to users who do not have visibility to the parent folder. For example, if the parent folder is shared to all sales department users, you can restrict the subfolder to only internal sales users, but you cannot expand it to the marketing team since they cannot see the parent folder. 


 

Adding Layers to Folders

To move a layer or folder to a different folder or subfolder, hover over the Layer Options menu (three dots) for that layer, then click the Edit option.

The editor for each type of layer includes a link to a Folder Selection window, where you can choose the folder or subfolder where the layer should be saved. 

Below, find screencaps of this link for each type of layer:

Data Sets

If you expect to use one folder heavily, don't worry. The Map page remembers which folders you had open when you left and will leave them open on your next load. All data sets not placed in a specific folder will remain below the folders.

Demographic Data

Zoominfo Layer


 

KML Layers


 

Shapes

Thematic Maps



Notes:

  • Every user has a folder called My Personal Saved Layers. Each user is able to create a Data Set and make it personal to them. When they do, that Data Set will be placed in that folder. 
  • Prior to the March '15 Geopointe release, Data Sets were only public or private. Now, all private data sets are placed into the My Personal Saved Layers folder. All public Data Sets will remain displayed outside of a folder until an administrator creates one.
  • Only admins can create new folders. 
  • The folders are store in a custom object called Geopointe Folder, API name of geopointe__GP_Folder__c. Each record's sharing rules drive visibility to the data. This object will not contain records for My Personal Saved Layers folder.